Be Warned! These Innocuous Foods May Contain Gluten?

Those who have celiac disease or suffer from non-celiac gluten sensitivity undoubtedly check the labels before purchasing any product to ensure that they are buying only the certified gluten-free items. If you are a newbie looking to consume the gluten-free foods, it is essential that you watch out for these surprising foods that may appear to be gluten free because their ingredient list do not disclose the culprits like rye and barley.

So, if you are looking for specifically gluten free foods then here are some surprising names that you must watch out for:

Your favorite Licorice may contain gluten?

Yes, the Twizzlers and Panda Licorice that you absolutely love have wheat flour listed as the second important ingredient in the list after corn syrup, so be careful. Thankfully, there are some natural brands such as Candy Tree and Orgran that are gluten free foods.

The flavored potato chips?

They may appear to be really innocent and tempting in perfect shapes but check the ingredient list to see if there’s the mention of wheat starch. You may find it especially in these flavors – Sour Cream & Onion, and BBQ.

Worcestershire sauce has gluten?

This Caesar-salad-dressing’s ingredient list frequently contains malt vinegar that is extracted from barley. To save yourself from gluten, you may look for the versions that make use of distilled white vinegar in place of malt vinegar; and a good choice would be Lea & Perrins.

Sushi (seaweed, rice, fish…what’s wrong in that?)

So you think there’s nothing wrong with your favorite sushi, but think again because it contains imitation crabmeat which is a common item in grocery sushi and it also contains wheat that works like a binder. And, of course you cannot forget soy sauce that is another important ingredient that contains gluten.

Deli meats contain gluten too?

Well, this one will of course depend on the brand that you are buying. If you buy Boar’s Head deli meats then they are all gluten free however there are some ready-to-eat meats that contain fillers and flavorings that have gluten-containing wheat. So, be careful of the store-prepared sandwiches that may be assembled on a bread-crumb laden counter.

No matter how careful you are, there are foods that may contain some hidden gluten that silently escapes into your body. You may counter the effects by increasing the consumption of raw and fresh superfoods that are delicious and healthy.

Author: Superfood

Leave a Reply